Try to do a Indian Johnny Cash accent, it’s not easy

watch Sam Raimi's 'Drag Me to Hell'

Just like writing, posting to this thing takes alot of alone time – listening time, editorial time – and good time is hard to come by these days but this morning I had just that. So I dug through my iTunes ‘recently added’ folder and tried to work up a post. I was hit by a wave of tracks I had collected to entertain 15 year olds, most of which were just sugary rot. Sometimes 15 year olds need to be slapped, told to shut the fuck up, and forced to listen some of their father’s music. They have to be told what’s good for them. Sadly, unless he or she is your 15 year old that kind of justice will probably go unpaid. Sometimes the kids have a point. Just like their father they need someone to listen to them too. It’s a balance beam. Still, my father isn’t here to slap me but if he was maybe we could listen to these track’s together…

Anyways, as Italian as Louis Prima is, I still find it unAmerican to dis him. Likewise, as racist as Disney was, I wouldn’t be surprised if he used some choice slurs on Louis in the studio. Perhaps Disney didn’t stop by for the sessions, but I doubt it. He was a peering and diligent farmer, always checkin’ in on the hen house.

Wanna Be Like You – Louis Prima

In the spirit of cocked-halfedness I’m posting this track just because  of the title – there’s just so many questions to be asked.

Moscow Nights – The Feelies

Singing is never just the words and the notes; it forces a personality. Personality is what divides and unites. I remember at one point Surfer Blood was a sore subject with Hogan so here I will pose this question: can the right instrumental summon as powerful a hatred as a song with singing? (not that this is the right instumental)

Neighbour Riffs – Surfer Blood

I found this track just tooling around on some other music blogs. It ought to be in a movie. It sums up this post. I’m so sick of themes in general. Theming edges out experimentation. There’s a whole universe of untested pairings out there ready to meet.

Quiet Village – Ferrante & Teicher

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

