The National + Lesbian Vampire Killers

Beckett values this card at 3$ because of a rare Topps' mixup on a card that clearly shows Danny Middleton.
Are you an adult. Do you know?

I don’t really know, but by the numbers I’m no youth.  I have noticed the number of buttons on my clothing steadily on the rise. These days I’m happy to find a pimple on my lip or behind my ear every now and then to remind me of the volatile days.

Lots of things are easier, though. For example if I am alone with someone singing in a room I can look them in face without feeling embarrassed.  I can pretty much eat any food with the exception of some sealife. I don’t have to buy new shoes except when they wear out. I don’t cut my hair.

Some things are still coming: dribbling a basketball, ironing a collar, formidable facial hair, patience, etc. I don’t yet fancy standing naked in front of windows but maybe with time I’ll warm up to that idea. For now, let’s call it young-manhood.

And let’s call this band from Cincinnati, The National, just a bit beyond young-manhood. They probably dribble well, comb out their beards with patience and iron their collars before shows. After all, their fifth album ‘High Violet’ is about to come out. Don’t be alarmed or surprised if you don’t initially like them, The National’s lyrics are usually about young-manhood but made by and for adults.

Anyways The National opened for Pavement last night and during the show I thought, ‘For now I enjoy this, but in 5 years I’ll relate to this.’ They played hard and earned their applause. I think the singer was throwed – he kept nipping at a snifter. I’ll applaud anyone who’s drinking in the face of a crowd.


The National – Mr. November

And because readership is down I wanted to do something special for the seven of you still out there. I’m posting a film given to me by the Bukowski of my school, M. Tech. And by ‘the Bukowski of my school,’ I don’t mean that he’s a prolific writer. Of course Bukowski didn’t start writing until 50 so Tech has some time.

Anyways, it’s a British comedy from 2009. It’s not some eskimo-tube pickup but it is…

LESBIAN VAMPIRE KILLERS!

(it’s about a 10 minute download, depending how many kids are on the teat. open the file with VLC or the like.)
    • dpink
    • May 10th, 2010

    is adulthood even guaranteed? maybe you wont even know it happened and there you are wasting 20 extra seconds buttoning your shirt and looking at your face in the mirror, just really looking.

  1. I needed to read something like this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

